15
May
16

Beating a Dead Horse

It has become clear that my discovery and acknowledgement of, and my attempts to cope with, my introversion have been less than efficacious in determining a comfortable place on the planet. I had thought that, once I came to terms with this character positioning and others understood why I behaved the way I do, that all would be right in my world.

To be honest, nothing has really changed. Naming something doesn’t always give control. As it is, I am becoming more and more isolated. By allowing myself guiltless moments alone has somehow signaled that I completely disdain social interaction.

Despite occasional awkwardness, I do invite folks into my space….but I am never invited back; let me emphasize NEVER. I have hosted social gatherings in the neighborhood, yet I have not been invited into anyone’s home. There have been an informal dinner, here and there, but no return invitation. If it were not for family and would spend every holiday alone. If I spend time with anyone, it is always with my initiative.

I am trying valiantly to maintain a semblance of healthy sense of worth, but it is difficult when it seems I have become a pariah. I am no longer young and pretty. I am not of great means. I am, essentially, all I have to offer. Apparently, that is not enough. There are times I am thankful my time on this planet is drawing to a close.

3 Responses to “Beating a Dead Horse”


  1. May 15, 2016 at 10:57 am

    I have to say Peter, if you were closer to me, you would be welcome to come hang out and we could crochet together often. Unfortunately, i live in No AZ, just over the UT border. Still, if you ever came out here, you are welcome. How would you feel about phone conversations? I have unlimited long distance, so it would cost me nothing to call you. If you might be interested in that, just for some human contact, email me at Anniesazi@gmail.com. I have an adult kid in your situation, and can understand the problem with isolation. It’s tough. Just know, I care. (HUGS)

  2. May 15, 2016 at 11:27 am

    Dear Peter — come to Europe!

  3. May 15, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    I feel your pain Peter. That said, i am in Texas & if you were nearby, I would LOVE to hang out. My crochet stash would love it too, as it doesn’t get used as much as I would like because friends here don’t crochet. So if you ever come to San Antonio, please let me know! as you are definitely invited over!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


