27
Dec
14

The Paradox of (my) Introversion

Truth be told, if I had my druthers, I would choose to be alone. No, I do not hate, distrust or fear other folks. I am simply more comfortable with my own company. Life being what it is, I have to cope in a populated world. But, to do so completely robs me of energy and spirit. I have learned to adapt. I have learned to adopt various personae to confront the challenges of a public life. Yet, when all is said and done, I need solitude to regain my vitality.

How can I explain, therefore, the scattered moments of loneliness and isolation? This is my frustration. While I am more likely than not to refuse an invitation, I feel overlooked and abandoned when not included. How do I convey to others that I am neither a snob nor a boor; that I would love to be asked, even if I find it hard to accept. Indeed, a paradox. Indeed, a source of great discomfort. One would think that, at my age, I would have figured it all out by now.

1 Response to “The Paradox of (my) Introversion”


  1. 1 aschemidt
    January 3, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    I’m the same way, and I hadn’t really realized that until I read your post. Thanks for the insight 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


