04
Jul
10

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Theodor Geisel (Dr. Seuss)

I am of two minds in approaching content for this blog. Many have encouraged me to keep  my thoughts relevant (and exclusive) to crochet and my design business. I have been told that to share any part of myself amid these scribblings is unnecessary and unwelcome by my readers. My attention has been directed to other bloggers in my profession as examples. “No one wants to know who you are” , they say, “just tell us what you do”.

How do I engage my readers, my friends, (my fans?), without acknowledging my person? How does one become detached from self? Some have shared that my limited and faltering success in designing can be attributed to the fact the some folks just don’t like me or, more accurately, don’t like who I am.  So be it. I cannot alter nature nor would I wish to do so.

My recent 60th birthday and various recent personal disappointments have reminded me that my life, all life, is finite. How I spend my time will frequently change; who I am remains constant. If I don’t celebrate my life, with all its quirks and foibles, then even the greatest accolade is worthless in the greater scheme of events.

If what I do pleases you, I am grateful. If who I am inspires you, I am fulfilled. There seems little more to be said.

1 Response to ““Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Theodor Geisel (Dr. Seuss)”


  1. 1 bksrmgc
    August 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I definitely like people’s stories and knowing about what makes a person who they are. I have a blog that is mainly about books. But it, too, has grown to different topics. I love your recipes, and enjoy knowing you’re a singer (love the baritone range; I used to sing–not as professionally as you–topSop, as we called it, until asthma and back problems which mean I can’t stand for longer than 10 minutes at a time, put an end to that). So keep doin’ what you’re doin’. After all, if people don’t like it, they don’t have to read it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


