03
Jul
10

Twin Set, Triple Trouble

I have never spent so much time and energy and mental gymnastics in my entire designing career (short that it is) on one project.  My brain knows exactly what it wants to see. The hook has a mind of its own.  I have ripped and ripped and ripped and ripped some more the same stitches over and over and over again (you get the picture?).  And this is just one of the front panels. I’ve got to do the other front panel yet so I get to look forward to this hell again, only in reverse. God willing and the crick don’t rise, the back will present less frustration and stress.

Everyone who has seen the shell portion of the set and what little I had done of the cardigan has admired the colors and classic simplicity of the design. If they only knew the cartwheels I have been executing in the process. And the greatest trick yet to be played is to make the pattern attractive and straightforward to execute by others. Fingers crossed.

I will not attempt to recreate the wheel in relating to you my busy June.  It began with my 60th birthday…. the rest is a whirlwind of crochet madness. Check out the Men Who Crochet blog for all the hooking escapades of the month.

One amazing consequence of working at the San Mateo County fair was getting  to know Julie Curry of Heritage Oak Quilting who coordinates the Home Arts building where the hand crafts are housed. Julie’s handiwork was displayed in many of the numerous quilts  at the exhibit. She’s a warm, gracious and welcoming person and an incredible quilter. On our second day there, I was struck with the most exciting proposition for Jule: a quilt made by her in exchange for a sweater made by me. I didn’t know if she’s go for it; some folks balk at exchanges, and rightly so. Frequently, one party gets the short end of the stick in such enterprises. I was counting on the fact that Julie had often admired my work and had often expressed an appreciation and admiration of crochet. As luck would have it, Julie was crazy about the idea. Indeed, on the next day we were at the fair, Julie was ready with pattern books and swatches for me to look over. Long story short:  I have picked out my colors and the pattern and I couldn’t be more excited by the prospect of owning one of these masterpieces. For my contribution in the transaction, Julie will be thrilled to receive the Aran sweater, re-designed as a cardigan. I couldn’t be more pleased.

So now I must get back to the Twin Set. I am calling it “Spring into Spring Twin Set”. Let’s hope it’s finished before next spring. I’d like to submit it for publication but time is running out. Lord, no more brain farts, PLEASE!

1 Response to “Twin Set, Triple Trouble”


  1. 1 bksrmgc
    August 19, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Happy belated 60th birthday, Peter. I’m facing my 60th in 5 days (24th). I just keep reminding myself that things could always be worse and I must be every day mindful and grateful for all the gifts in my life.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


