24
Jul
09

New day, new horizon.

As I prepare to turn another page in my much too interesting life, I am reminded of something I read in, of all places, a Facebook profile. Do not be concerned with those from your past; there is a reason they are not in your present.

I am most guilty of trying to hold on to relationships which have long since evolved to simply pleasant memories. I guess it could be tied to not being altogether happy  with the current situation, whenever in life that happened to be. Perhaps it is another twist on the “grass in greener” adage. Everything, every time looks better than what we see if the present offers  challenges we’d rather not meet.

So often I have sought out old friends, folks who have long since passed from my everyday life. But, in reality, the effort always proves unproductive and unsatisfying; people, places and situations change and the past refuses to be relived. So, all we really have to hang our hats on is the present and all the present has to offer us. We have to play the hand we are dealt today. Yesterday is, and must remain, in the past. Such a lesson is hard-learned by me. I guess that makes me human.

0 Responses to “New day, new horizon.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


