23
Jul
09

Deadine met; angst continues.

I met my deadline for the reworked vest  pattern with 24 hours to spare. It looks like this one is a “go”. 12 weeks of my life gone but the design is done.

It seems that I will be moving soon. I have been here for over six years and I was hoping that my roots here were secure. But, as they say on the streets were I live:  “Shit happens!” No details are necessary; let’s just say that I have been placed in an untenable position and staying put is not one of my options. Because of the ever-present financial considerations, the move will most likely not happen until September. I do have a place in mind. I just need to say “yes” to the offer. It is the best solution. I will use these few weeks to get all my ducks in a row.

I have been teaching a parent/child beginning crochet class for the past two weeks; the 3rd and final session is this Sunday. I have really surprised myself at the patience I have mustered teaching 9 year-old girls. As I had anticipated, the girls learned much faster than their mothers. I am scheduled to teach a class on cables this Saturday at a different yarn store, but I am not hopeful it will actually happen. It’s so hard to find students for advanced work. I don’t know whether it’s a matter of finances, skill or time, but crochet is a hard sell in this neck of the woods. I am going to teach a class next month which I hope will have greater appeal ..”Crochet for Knitters”. So many knitting patterns these days use crocheted edgings. I am forever giving quickie lessons at the Fiber Artist Friday session I host once monthly. I think this class will be popular.

I won a few ribbons at a couple local county fairs; one more to go then I’m done with competitions for the year. It’s getting late so I won’t go into detail. More on that next time.

Long day for me tomorrow.

1 Response to “Deadine met; angst continues.”


  1. 1 Ken
    July 24, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    YO Pete,

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. I know things will turn around for you.

    Take care.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


