15
Apr
09

We Have a Winner

I know I said I would announce, on 4/16, the winner of the design naming contest but, since the top (formerly known as Shimmering Shells) is finished and I have taken photos and and I’m so psyched over some exciting news (hold on to your knickers, I’ll spill the beans in a minute – this really is exciting – for me, any way), I thought I would make the announcement one day early. I hope this doesn’t screw up anyone’s calendar 😆 )

There were so many creative and thoughtful entries. Twenty of you took the time to send me your suggestions and I do appreciate all the input. So, without further ado (may I have a drum roll, please…) the winner entry is:

Isn’t this exciting? I had no idea so many of you would enter. I didn’t think anyone read my blog and my newsletter. You folks are really great in your support.

Oh…I do get carried away…

The new name for the Shimmering Shells Top is:

You know, so much goes into designing a garment. One has to consider a particulr style and how a chosen stitch pattern can be incorporated into that style. And then there is the sizing. OY! Don’t talk to me about sizing. I think I dream in Crochet-ese now.

Sorry. Aren’t you glad you don’t have a plane to catch?

The winning entry in the design re-naming contest is:

Shifting Sands” Shell, sent in by Darlene Koske.

sands3

Congratulations, Darlene. I will send along the pattern when it is ready for publication. Please feel free to choose one other of my patterns as part of your prize. Please email me with your choice.

NOW, for my exciting news. Y’all remember my Continental Cable Scarf which was published late last year? Well, the same magazine (the name of which begins with a “C” and ends with a “!”) has asked me to design a men’s v-neck sweater vest for the January, ’10 issue. How cool is that? The only hitch is that I was only asked to do this 2 weeks ago and the yarn just came yesterday and the whole kit and kaboodle, model and pattern, is due 5/15, just over 4 weeks from now. I’m experimenting with some different design elements (probably not a great idea, given the the time frame, but you know me…) so everything has to go smoothly. There’s not a lot of wiggle room. It’s so nice when the publisher comes to the designer with a pattern request. Just when I was becoming convinced that the mags and yarn cos and all the other powers-that-be were continuing to turn a deaf ear to the rather loud clamor for men’s designs, this assignment falls in my lap. Very cool, indeed. Here’s a little sample of the stitch pattern. And you thought I was only good at texture. HA!!! 😛

kilroyvest1

Happy Tax Day!!!

2 Responses to “We Have a Winner”


  1. April 16, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Congrats to the winner ~ cool name! & Peter you will manage to come up with a great pattern for the magazine. Can’t wait to see what you decide to use for the stitch pattern.

  2. April 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Annie: the stitch pattern is right at the end of the blog entry.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


