02
Apr
09

New photos, a contest and a sale… oh, yes… and body armor.

There have been requests to see my progress in reworking the Shimmering Shells pattern using Noro Silk Garden Sock. So, without further ado, here is the original concept made with hand-painted, silk/merino (unfortunately, not available commercially) and the new design-in-progress:

Pic001

newshim1

newshim4

I have decided that the design needs to be renamed..the Noro doesn’t shimmer like the  original did. Therefore, I am holding a contest to rename the shell. The winner receives a free copy of the pattern (once I’ve completed it) PLUS a free copy of any other of my patterns. Check out Hookerbear Creations. Please send any and all submissions to Contest. Deadline for the contest is 4/15. I will announce the winner on 4/16.

I have previously announced to my mailing list subscribers that, to celebrate the return of my web site to cyberspace,  I am offering them any of my patterns for $5.00. I am happy to extend the sale to my blog readers. Simply visit my web site, Hookerbear Creations, then send your selections to Patterns and will respond with a Paypal invoice. Please do not order directly from the web site as you will be charged full price. The sale ends Sunday, April 5.

I have completed the Gatsby Sweater variation. It is the very first item of crochet I have made expressly for ME. Sigh. I don’t like it. Oh, I love the design (of course I’d say that, wouldn’t I?), but the yarn is all wrong. I used a cotton/acrylic blend and it is simply too heavy, even in sport weight. Think body armor. If I get brave I will take a picture. But the sweater is just a bit too warm for the moderate climate of the SF Bay Area. I promised I would wear it this afternoon to teach my beginning crochet class (rookie hookers are so impressionable…don’t you just love it?) but I doubt I will last long into the class before shedding the sweater. We’ll see.

1 Response to “New photos, a contest and a sale… oh, yes… and body armor.”


  1. April 8, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Hi Peter,
    when I look at this sweater it reminds me of walking on a sandy beach (sand tones) and the “shells” make me think of the sea shells on the sand… so I thought you might consider ” A Walk on the Beach” sweater ~ yes I do know I am not very clever! Hope you like my suggestion.
    Anne


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


