31
Mar
09

The best-laid plans of mice and men…

In the inimitable words of Robert Burns (adapted), “The best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry”. I imposed a deadline upon myself to have my revised website up and running by January 1. Well, I’m three months late and it’s still not quite complete. But it’s online now and my latest patterns are available. The older stuff is available too, but you’ll have to email me if there’s something you need and I don’t have paypal for you to access. I’m always happy to invoice. You can always reach me at peter@hooker-bear.com.

So….Hookerbear Creations is available for your viewing pleasure. It’s not what I had envisioned. Truth be told, it’s not very professional BUT it serves the purpose of restoring my presence in cyberworld.

In a couple weeks I will be teaching a beginner’s crochet class for parents and children.  This concept came to me earlier this month as I was teaching the 10 year old daughter of  the LYS owner. While this child was exceptionally bright and quick to learn,  it occurred to me that if her mother (or father) was learning along with her, that additional resource could help her retain the skills I taught her and could enable her to advance in her knowledge. So, I immediately put forth my proposal to Bente, her mother (and my boss) who readily embraced the idea.  I really think we are breaking new ground, at least in my neck of the woods. I can’t wait to begin. Wish me luck. I’ll keep you posted.

Spring has finally sprung which means my birthday is just around the corner. (Well, since my birthday is in June, the corner is, at least, in sight!) Remember when we couldn’t wait to be older? Remember when we  would count the days until our 16th birthday so we could get a driver’s license? How difficult was the wait before our 21st birthday?

Well, folks, I do not want any more birthdays. I do not want to be any older.  This year I will be 59.   59!!!!!!!!!!!!! How did this happen? No one asked me if I was ready to be old.  Holy smokes! Next year I’ll be 60!!! Wait a minute. I won’t be 60 if I don’t want to. I hereby declare that my 59th birthday will be the last I acknowledge. The government knows how old I am but I’ll be damned if any one else is gonna find out!!! Oh crap. I just told you.

0 Responses to “The best-laid plans of mice and men…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


