08
Mar
09

Arriving at the Purly Gates

I mentioned over one year ago that I had set my mind to learn to knit.  I tried ….I really did.  I could cast on like a pro, but then, nothing. My fingers insisted on crochet…which is rather hard to do with two knitting needles. I had it in my mind that I should learn the Continental method since the yarn would be held the same as in crochet. My friend Stefan at the LYS (where I also teach) instructs the English method so stubbon me did not take his class. While my determination never wavered, I put knitting on the back burner. It would happen when it happened.

Well, I have recently taken on the job of crochet instructor at two other yarn shops in the area. As luck would have it, the owner of one of the stores is teaching a class in Continental next Saturday and I’m going to do it….and, because I am now an employee, I won’t even have to pay for the class. I am totally psyched.  It’s gonna happen.

Now, there is no guarantee that I will take to knitting as easily and quickly as I did crochet. I will feel the total fool if I don’t “get it”. I am not a good student, which is why I taught myself to crochet. For whatever reason (be it ego, pride, stubbornness or insecurity), I am not readily responsive to instruction. I want to know it all now! I have no patience with myself for not knowing. Maybe I should have a cocktail before going so I won’t be so hyper. Bente, the shop owner, is a lovely woman with an endearing Danish accent. I hope we are still friends after this endeavor. 🙂

I’ll keep you posted.

4 Responses to “Arriving at the Purly Gates”


  1. 1 Ken
    March 9, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Hey Pete,

    I know how you feel!! A couple years ago, while still teaching crochet, I finally decided to learn to knit. It was mainly to help new students to learn and to make knitters feel included in my crochet classes.

    Now don’t get me wrong, it’s still not my favorite thing, like you, I get impatient, and I get tired of the ladies telling me ‘it takes time!!’..like, DUH!
    I’m a teacher, OK!!

    At any event my goal was to know just enough to teach how to get started…anything else was up to them (hee, hee!).

    A man can only take so much, right? 😉

  2. March 11, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Amen. I’d like to learn as much as I can, but I don’t know just how many new tricks you can teach this old dog.

  3. March 12, 2009 at 7:01 am

    This is what happened with me. I have tried learning to knit a few times and it never clicked. The Continental makes a lot more sense to a crocheter. It did not happen right away, but it happened.
    Henya.

  4. 4 Arlene
    March 14, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Hi Peter, I also tried to learn knitting but the throw method just was combersome. I came upon this youtube continental knitting demonstration and it has worked really well. It said they teach this way for crocheters and its even helped my crocheting and ability to control the yarn. I hope this helps you. take care, Arlene http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuRLFl36tDY&feature=related


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


