22
Feb
09

It Never Ends

Some of you may remember (see Soapbox Alert to jog your memories) my chagrin and amazement at the chuzpah  some folks have in regards to obtaining and using  patterns. You may now recall that, upon offering a pattern at a much reduced rate (one for which, at the time, I charged $5.00),  I received complaints and demands, including requests that the pattern be re-written to accommodate an individual’s own specifications.

Well, lightning, indeed, does strike twice in the same place. I recently announced, through various channels, that my latest, the Swellegant Elegance cotton sweater

fullswell2

was now available for pre-order. Remarkably I received the following email:

Can you redo it a bit for it to have longer flared sleeves with a short slit up the sleeves?

I sometimes wonder if requests such as this are ever preceded by even a modicum of serious thought. Does this person realize the work involved? Lucky for me, my designs are readily conceptualized – actually getting the hook to make the fabric takes time, patience and, may I modestly add, skill. Redesigning the sleeves may not seem like much of a task to this woman, but I would estimate that I would need to invest at least 25 more hours to complete the effort. Who is going to pay for the time  spent? And, who, besides this person, would actually prefer the modified sleeve? Where is my guarantee that the revised pattern would actually sell?

I did not respond to this request. Stirring in my incredulity, I could not think of a polite refusal. This woman has never bought any of my patterns. I don’t think I’ll harbor many regrets over my decision.

4 Responses to “It Never Ends”


  1. 1 Ken
    February 23, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Thank You!!

    It’s nice to hear someone else feel the same way.

  2. 2 Patricia G
    February 28, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I think you should explain to the woman that it would take the 25 hours and that if she wishes to pay for your time as an expert you would gladly redo it just for her.

  3. February 28, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    If I thought the message would actually resonate with her, I might try that tactic. However, it has been my unfortunate experience that those who would have the cheek to actually make such a request have no intention to pay for anything. As I mentioned in the original post, she had never purchased a pattern from me…and I doubt she ever will. I no longer get upset with such requests. I just smile and move on…eventually 🙂

    Peter

  4. 4 Chris C - Ringwood, NJ
    March 14, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Ok…deep cleansing breathe. Breath in..hold…release slowly. Ah…much better. Put those images of you slapping her upside the head out of your mind. : )


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


