31
Jan
09

Believe it or not!

I celebrate 8 years of crocheting today. It sometimes seems like I have been hooking all my life (get your minds out of the gutter!) yet it is just these few short years. I remember thinking, as I stared at the tutorials online, that I was never going to figure how to manage this craft. And, since I had no instructor to call upon when difficulties arose, I managed to learn quite a few elements incorrectly. For one, I was placing all my stitches in the back loop only. I recall thinking that my mother’s crochet didn’t have these ridges. It was weeks before I relented to read the instructions again (yes, I am a very stubborn person) to find my error. Also, I taught myself to form the double crochet (dc) erroneously. I was actually stitching the extended, or Elmore, dc. It’s amazing what one little extra yarn over (yo) can do to wreck havoc on gauge :mrgreen:

So, here I am in 2009: a published designer and the crochet instructor at three yarn stores. Who’d a-thunk it? Indeed, crochet has become my life. Truth be told, I nearly gave up the effort after spending my first two hours attempting to make a chain. I came close to missing out on the joy I now experience in my craft. What more can one ask of life than to be able to do what brings happiness and to get paid for it, to boot?

I am in great need of an experienced web designer who is willing to work for peanuts (or patterns 😆 ). My business web site is woefully lacking and I really must have a more professional presence online. If there is any kind-hearted soul who is willing to lend a hand, please give a holler!

I have a new pattern which is nearing final copy. It is cotton sweater in women’s plus sizes.

shorttwo

The pattern is now available for pre-order at Cotton Sweater for the discounted price of $5.00. Next on the agenda for completion: a Basket weave men’s vest and a men’s vest based in my Gatsby Sweater pattern.

3 Responses to “Believe it or not!”


  1. 2 Carmen
    January 31, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Congratulations on your “anniversary”! I’ve only been crocheting for about 3 years and can’t believe how far I’ve come (not as far as you).
    What kind of help are you looking for on your website? I’ve worked on a few and could possibly offer some help.

  2. February 18, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Wow! Only 8 years! Very impressive — or maybe just a sign that you’ve found your creative place in the universe.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


