03
Dec
08

Rant Alert

When I returned home last evening from my concert performance, I discovered that, at long last, my copy of Crochet! Magazine had finally arrived in the mail. Now, I knew, both from word of mouth and from the magazine’s web site, that my Continental Cable Scarf pattern was indeed published in this issue. My contact with the magazine assured me it would appear this month. The check stub even attested to the fact that this would be the issue. But, being the insecure skeptic that I am, I had to see for myself.

I practically tore the pages from the staples, frantically searching for the pattern. When finally I found it imagine my horror to find that THEY CHANGED THE FRINGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(taking a moment to compose myself)

I know, I know. They bought the pattern.They have every right to change whatever it is they want to change. But I had no warning. I loved my fringe. It gave the scarf a unique character, over and above my pretty cable. It’s like having plastic surgery and trading in Audrey Hepburn’s nose for Miss Piggy’s! They removed a whole row of knots. It looks so incomplete now. I am devastated. I had rather they removed the fringe entirely. Anyone who wants the original instructions for the fringe can leave me a note and I’ll gladly send them along.

They should have warned me.

On another note, I still am desperate to finish a project…ANY project. I have two women’s tops and a men’s vest completed, begging me to write the pattern, but I can’t set my mind to do the work. I’d rather crochet than write. Pattern writing is the work of the devil, especially when sizing garments. I’d sooner eat glass than spend hours at the computer, one hand on the keyboard, the other on the calculator. There’s gotta be a better way. I need to get an attitude adjustment rather quickly as I need to make these patterns available.

On the teaching front, I am now in my third month of instructing at two yarn stores here in Oakland and am soon to start at another, this one in Berkeley. If I can somehow find a fourth gig, I think I can manage, along with the designing, to forge a modest living without outside resources. It’s not easy, though. I can’t always count on my health to cooperate but, so far, so good. As my commitments are structured, I never have to work more than two days per week, giving me time in between to conserve my strength. I am optimistic that this is the beginning of better life for me.

5 Responses to “Rant Alert”


  1. December 3, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Oh, I’m so sorry about the pattern. That has to be really upsetting, given how hard you worked to make it ‘just so.’

    Good job getting the teaching gigs, though – that’s greaet!

    Hey, check my blog in about 15 minutes… I’m bestowing a bloggy award upon you! 😀

  2. 2 Ken
    December 6, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Hey Pete!

    Just picked up the magazine today. The scarf really looks nice. I’m not a ‘fringe’ kinda girl, so the change would bother me. Glad to see you in print again

    Good luck with the classes. I’ve been there. Hope you get the additional you want too.

    Take Care,

    Ken (CrochetGuy)

  3. January 5, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that it’s a foster fringe and not yours. That was the only part that was bugging me, and will most likely change when I make it.

    Do we ever get to know what it should have been?

    Peace.
    Mike

  4. January 5, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Mike: The original fringe was longer with another row of knots. Not a big deal to some, I guess, but the alteration made a significant change, in my mind.

  5. 5 liz
    February 20, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    I love your designs. I too am addicted to the finer yarns that currently I cannot use. I have to be good and wait.

    I have always been afraid to submit a design for publication for fear of seeing it changed so I feel for you. Please don’t let it get you down. Design for yourself. I sell art and every artist I know has had artwork changed by publishers. Just keep doing what you are doing.
    liz


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


