25
Sep
08

Reality Check

My Friends:

These words do not come easily. It has become apparent to me that I must make drastic sacrifices in my life if I am to survive financially. Despite my best efforts, pattern sales have not been good,  payment for classes and goods have not been forthcoming in a timely manner, and, still, the bills pour in. My 3rd appeal for disability is still hanging in the air.  It has come to the point where, after only the barest of necessities have been sustained, there is simply nothing left.

Barring a miraculous inflow of funds in the next few days, I will be forced to suspend my telephone land line, my cell phone and my internet connection. My website will remain online, but I will not have ready access to it.  In the meantime, I will be reconsidering my current living situation. With any luck, this situation is extremely temporary, though I am not hopeful, at this point.

I have always tried to include a bit of myself in my posting, but I never imagined having to share with you such intimate details of my life.  Still, you have supported me all along the way.  I didn’t want to disappear without explanation.  I thank you all for your kind words and encouragement for my work. I will keep working, as I am able. I will find a way to let you know when there is news of my life.

Cheers.

Peter

7 Responses to “Reality Check”


  1. 1 Sandy
    September 25, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Dearest Peter, you hold on. I swear it will get better. I remember my time of waiting for my disability, and how many times they denied me. You will get it, I know this. Be strong. Hopefully it will happen before you will be forced to put your life on hold. Know that many of us, well at least me, will be waiting for you if it happens.
    Blessing to you.

  2. 2 christi
    September 25, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    dear Peter, hang in there!! i also went through several appeals, so i know how frustrating that is, but have faith, and keep on! meanwhile, you will be in my (OUR!!) thoughts and prayers; your silence will be noted, and we all hope that your absence will be as brief as possible 🙂
    *bearhugs* to you from VA!!
    ~christi 🙂

  3. 3 Wanda Baucom
    September 25, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Peter,
    I am sorry to hear you are having such problems, but from experience I can tell you, this is the nature of the beast (disability). It seemed to take me forever to get mine. I want you to know that I love your designs even though I haven’t ordered any. (Disability is not for living, it is only for barely surviving.) I love to crochet, and I wish I had the kind of talent for design that you do. Know that you are in our prayers and in our hearts. Do take care and stay in touch as much as possible.
    Wanda

  4. 4 Sharon
    September 25, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Hang in there – things WILL get better. When it comes to money the gov. doesn’t like to let go even though YOU were the one who put the money in there in the first place. The day I thought I was going to have to disconnect myself from the world (phone and internet) I got the news that my disability claim was accepted. So there is HOPE. Never give up. May your absence be brief. *HUGS*

  5. 5 Jenn
    September 27, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Peter, I can only echo what everyone else is saying here–hang in there. I remember how it was getting disability myself and how impossible everything felt until the money started coming. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Things will get better.

  6. 6 Anne
    September 29, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Peter,
    I can not say that I understand what you are going through as I have not been in your position before. What I can say is that I’m praying for you. I hope you get the right answer & soon, and that you won’t be offline at all or at the very least for too long. You are a very talented designer I pray you do find that break through to be able to earn what you need to live on and very very soon.

  7. 7 Ken
    October 4, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Hey Pete,

    Sorry to hear about your situation.

    I really understand how you feel. I’ve had to go thru a similar thing a few years ago. Things are a little better now, but I’m one payment away from being back there too.

    I’ve been in contact with different organizations in ‘our’ community, who have steered me to different programs that helped me out.

    I know things are different from state to state, but email me, and we’ll talk more about it, OK?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


