21
Aug
08

The Creative Process

The vest poll has now been closed. The vote was close, but the basket weave pattern won out. As soon as that became clear, I set out to swatch and experiment, ultimately deciding to following the schematics of the pullover sweater, changing the collar, reshaping the neck/shoulder and eliminating the sleeves. I got about 5 rows into the basket weave pattern when I realized this project was going to be extremely boring for me unless I changed things around somewhat to make the pattern a challenge for me and, with any luck,  for anyone else following the pattern.

While the basket weave pattern itself hasn’t changed…of the many I have found, the one used in the pullover and the hoodie works best for me… I have altered the sequence so as to center the pattern to accommodate a v-neck. So I started over again and 3 rows in I was still bored. What can I do?  Let’s really shake it up, this time.

Rather than working the ribbing separately from the body, the vest begins with ribbing…with a twist. Rather than standard vertical ribbing, the vest will use horizontal ribbing. The feature will be continued on the shoulder edging and along the v-neck.  So, I began again.  I started with the back, worked my ribbing with a G hook and changed to a H as I continued working the body. I got maybe 7 rows done and I realized I needed to do this completely differently.

Th vest will be worked in the round ..in ONE piece..hooray!!!…beginning with the horizontal ribbing, on up through the body until neck and shoulder shaping will necessitate working front and back with separate yarn attachments. BUT…the only sewing required will be to attached at the shoulders.

So now I have begun in earnest. Working in the round, I have completed 9 rows of horizontal ribbing and have worked three rows of the basket weave pattern. So far, so good. My only concern is the joining point of the rows, but vigilant care should keep that from being messy. The v-neck is going to be a challenge, but, to my mind, is necessary for the vest. I don’t think a crew neck really works.

My plan is to  keep you  updated on the design process. While I am fairly certain of the direction I will follow, the exact execution is subject to trial and error. I can see the garment in my mind; God willing, my hands will achieve the goal.

As I start the process of designing this vest, I am entering foreign territory. Won’t you journey with me?

vest1

3 Responses to “The Creative Process”


  1. August 21, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Sounds like fun, enjoy!

  2. August 26, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Hi Peter,
    good thoughts always sent your way … I hope you continue to enjoy the creative process. Especially since you come up with such delightful projects!!!

  3. August 28, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Hi Peter:)

    My thoughts & prayers are with you during your inpatient testing. I’m a retired nurse & wish you were my patient. I’d have loads of fun with you!!!

    I so appreciate the creative person that you are.

    Take Care & God Bless You:)

    Jeanette:)

    a.k.a. Honey, Dear, MoM, Ma-Ma, Grandma, Nurse, Cowgirl, Christian helping those in need. Amen.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


