08
May
08

I'm In Stitches

I recently purchased the most amazing book, The Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs: 500 Classic & Original Patterns by Linda P Schapper. The are so many wondefrul and beautiful stitch patterns contained in this volume. I enthusiastically recommend this book. It is an invaluable addition to anyone’s crochet library.

I have been searching for an interesting stitch pattern to use for a woman’s summer top. Rather than the usual pullover or cardigan style I think I want to do some sort of cover-up…you know what I mean. Something to wear over a bathing suit whilst lounging about the pool. Is there a name for this garment? Inquiring minds want to know. Anyway….below is the stitch pattern I have chosen. When I showed it to my friend Cay, her response was an immediate “That’s so YOU!” I guess she’s right. If all goes well this whatever-it’s-called garment will appear in an unnamed crochet magazine next year; you know..the same unnamed magazine that’s publishing my scarf pattern. Fingers crossed. I’m emailing the swatch and schematics next week.

PS Is there a graphic artist in our midst who’d like to do a trade…your handiwork for mine?

1 Response to “I'm In Stitches”


  1. 1 Monique
    May 16, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Hi Peter,

    That stitch is so beautiful. That garment can be no other way than to be beautiful. I would definetely like to do something you design with it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


