04
Apr
08

I've got a secret!

I’ve got a secret. SHHH! Don’t tell anyone, but I purchased my first set of knitting needles this afternoon. Ooh, I feel so naughty, like a little boy going to the library to sneak a peak at the National Geographic magazines (Don’t give me that look! If you are male and of a certain age, you know exactly what I’m talking about!) But, it’s true. I’m learning to knit. I hope my hooks don’t get lonely.

Actually, I do fear losing time from crochet, since it is now my source of income. But I do feel the draw of knitting. My original notion of combining crochet and knit in my designs was dealt a bit of a blow when a prominent needlework publisher and designer (and friend) cautioned me that such an endeavor may be a waste of time since most crocheters don’t knit and most knitters wouldn’t be caught dead with a hook in their hands. A sad commentary, I think, but we’ll see. First I have to learn to work those needles. Then, I’ll decide if I want to take the chance.

Regardless, while I find certain satisfaction (and glee), in the company of knitters, in proving that what I produce is “not your grandmother’s crochet”, that wearable and attractive garments can be crocheted, I still feel that I would benefit from knowing both crafts. While I have come to accept as compliments the remarks that my work doesn’t look crocheted, I’m curious to know what I can produce in the world of knitting.

Just the other night, while meeting with my local LGBT Stitch ‘n Bitch (known as Knit Night to everyone else but me :D), one of the participants mentioned, while looking at the Basket Weave pullover currently at the end of my hook, that, if that (the pullover) was what crochet was all about, he’d love to learn. But, if all crochet entailed making granny squares, he wasn’t interested. I had to interject that, while I, too, was not a fan of the traditional granny square, it was by spending an entire summer, that year I learned to crochet, making 7″ granny, and sampler, squares that I truly learned to crochet. It was through maneuvering through the foreign language we call a pattern and manipulating the yarn into all these odd knots, that I really learned my craft. Whenever I would encounter a stitch I had not worked before, I’d give it a whirl. If the fingers wouldn’t cooperate, I’d set that pattern aside and go to something else. But, wonder of wonders, I would pick up the same pattern in a few days or weeks and Voila! No sweat! As learning to read by first memorizing the alphabet, we learn our needle crafts in baby steps, stitch by stitch, technique by technique. When I first picked up the hook in January, 2001, I had no idea that, in less than four years later, I would be a published designer, especially since I almost gave up completely the first time I attempted to crochet a chain. Yes, a chain. I just couldn’t do it. But, I’m a stubborn cuss and determination pushed me past that obstacle. The rest, proverbially speaking, is history.

Yes, I’m going to be a knitter….and a crocheter. I promise to treat my children without a hint of favoritism. Maybe.

12 Responses to “I've got a secret!”


  1. 1 Chris C
    April 4, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    LOL…good luck! I’ve had 2 people show me how to knit…and though I do get it I get so tense. My neck and shoulders are killing me after about an hour. But I am determined to learn. I just don’t get the fasination with knitted socks…have you noticed how many knitters make socks??

    Good luck and can’t wait to see what you create!

    Hope all is well
    Chris

  2. April 4, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    LOL..Yes, in my little S ‘n B, most of the folks (all knitters but me) are making socks. Maybe one day I’ll share the fascination. 🙂

  3. April 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    I don’t get why so many knitters make socks, either – or are so in love with circulars and DPNs. I LOVE my straights. I love knitting so much, but I also like it when patterns DO combine knitting and crochet. It gives me a smug feeling, knowing I’m able to do both and not stressing about what patterns I can and can’t make. Maybe you could cater to the elite who can do both. 😉 LOL

  4. 4 hndcrft
    April 5, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Congrats! I knit and crochet and enjoy both! You can do both, no matter how hard a time you get from others. So, relax and enjoy!

  5. 5 Gran3
    April 6, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Peter – good luck and keep us hooked in on how it’s going. I both knit and crochet, although I crochet better than I knit, I’m learning socks. lol The good socks. Although I’m using circulars – the dpn’s would drive me insane.

  6. April 6, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Hi there! I wandered over from Ravelry’s WordPress group (I’m cogknition over there). I just finally got the hang of crochet and would definitely be interested in knit/crochet combo patterns!

    As for the sock knitting…I’m not the most prolific sock knitter, but I do love handknit socks. I have smallish, narrow feet and store-bought socks just never fit right, bunching and sagging uncomfortably. Not only can I adjust the fit when I knit my own socks, but the wool keeps my feet much warmer in cold weather, and I also think they wear better. I wear my handknit socks much more often than my store-bought socks, and they haven’t developed any holes yet!

  7. April 6, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I’ve reaquainted myself with crochet, since the knitting group I’ve been leading at a homeless women’s center wants to crochet! And I’m sort of, um, hooked. 😉

  8. 8 Colleen
    April 7, 2008 at 10:36 am

    I also crochet, and am starting to knit and tunisian (afghan) crochet. I don’t know how much overlap exists among the techniques, but I was having a very hard time learning to purl and also keeping my stitches on the knitting needles until I used two afghan hooks (look like knitting needle/crochet hybrids a crochet hook as long as a knitting needle, with a stopper on the end, just like a knitting needle).

    I think (well, hope) there is a market for multi-technique patterns. I certainly would buy them, and indeed have a couple books on my amazon.com wishlist: Knitting Loves Crochet and
    Knit & Crochet Combined: Best of Both Worlds

    The only reason I haven’t bought them yet, is that my knitting skills are too limited to make them useful at this point, but I’m hoping soon.

  9. 9 Will
    April 11, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Peter .. you are so funny, you and your secret. I’ve been knitting lately too, and like you I hope my hooks don’t get rusty. I’ve been working on an aran pullover, and there are a couple of others that I want to do as well. May I recommend a REALLY good cable book by Janet Szabo. It’s her only Cable book, and very well done. I hope you are enjoying your knitting adventure as well as crocheting.

    Will

  10. April 13, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Hey Pete,

    I kinda feel like you. although, when i first started needlework, it was knitting (bad experience!!), so I asked if there was anything else, that’s when I learnd crochet, and been ‘hooked’ ever since.

    I finally picked up some knitting needles a couple of years ago, only to help some beginners that wanted to join my classes. Felt bad asking some of my knitting students to help out. Now, all I know are the basics, that’s about enough for me (hee, hee!!)

  11. 11 Beverly
    April 16, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Peter, I am so happy that you have chosen to learn a new craft! I both knit and crochet, and I fortunately have not encountered any snobbishness in either community.

  12. 12 Diane
    April 16, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Peter. Good for you!!! I have a set of needles. I can’t figure out how to use them. LIke Chris I get all tense and then I give up. I would love to learn to knit. There are many patterns I would like to try. But, I have your thought as well. It would take time from my crochet and there are many things I “need” to make.
    Diane


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


