12
Feb
08

Resistance is Futile!

It is becoming clearer and clearer that I soon no longer will be able to resist the pull of knitting. I suppose my greatest reluctance to learning knit is my fear that it will draw too much time from crochet which is, of course, my bread and butter these days. But I can see so much that can be done in combining the two arts in designing apparel. And, despite the best efforts of so many of us in the field, crochet remains the ugly step-child in the mind of publishers. Much of crochet’s unfortunate reputation lies at the foot of those hideous afghans of dubious color combinations and sweaters so hot and heavy they could double as bun warmers. I want to have both worlds. I just need to find the time.

The comment I have heard most in reaction to my Gatsby Sweater is, “Gee, that looks knitted. Are you sure it’s crochet?” or it’s cousin “That has to be knitted. You can’t crochet a sweater like that”. I’m not sure whether or not to be complimented. I didn’t set out to produce a sweater that looks knitted. My goal was to crochet a sweater. Am I to read in these reactions that somehow the sweater is “better’ because it looks knitted? Would it be inferior if it appeared to obviously be crocheted?

So I guess I get myself over to Article Pract to take Stefan’s knitting class. I thought about teaching myself, as I did crochet, but I don’t think I have the patience any more. Getting older is robbing me of time.

11 Responses to “Resistance is Futile!”


  1. February 13, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    knittinghelp.com has some really great video tutorials if you want to do it from home! 🙂

  2. February 13, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Thanks, Melanie, I’ll check it out.

    P

  3. February 15, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Dear Peter!

    By all means learn thyself a new trade…However DESPAIR not! You too have joined the ranks of minions for the Crochet Liberation Front. If one door shall not open and free our WONDERFUL selves than we shall create a window!

    Global Domination is at hand! Well, ok that may be taking it a little too far 🙂 But your work is beautiful, and I’m sure it will be no matter how you chose to do it…But I just betcha we can make things happen.

    HOOKS RAISED! CLF SALUTE!

  4. 4 lara croft
    February 16, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Awesome sweater. Doesn’t look knitted: knitted sweaters are usually boring and industrial-looking. I love this and I’m happy to have discovered you!

  5. February 16, 2008 at 6:32 am

    you are kind to say so. I’m happy Debbie Stoller discovered me! Thanks

  6. 6 Biz
    February 22, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    LOL. I love the way the sweater looks! I’ve had the same thing happen with the ribbing of a sweater that I make and have actually had people argue with me that it had to be knitted. At the time I couldn’t knit so it was fun to say “Well, its not knit, cuz I made it and I can’t knit!”

    Knitting is fun and somewhat addicting. However, crochet is my lover. I will never abandon her!

  7. 7 hpjchobbes
    February 23, 2008 at 7:40 am

    I just recently purchased Son of Stitch and Bitch and was flipping through marking the projects I wanted to make. Unfortunetly, I do not know how to crochet, which made me a little disapointed. This is a beautiful sweater and I’m a little sad that I can’t make it unless I learn to crochet. I’m thinking this will be my motivation to learn!

  8. February 23, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Thanks for your kind words. Whatever I can do to open up the world of crochet for you I am happy to do. Give it a try. I won’t guarantee you’ll be able to make that sweater tomorrow, but with time, you’ll be hooking away at Gatsby!

  9. 9 Will
    March 6, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Hi Peter … I was just reading your blog and feeling better after having some guilt over putting some more time into developing knitting skills along with crochet. There is no reason why either of the two should be exclusive, but we know how that plays out in so many minds. Now, who said “What you think of me is none of my business”? Anyway … Expanding our skills to knitting or crocheting is just that .. expanding. It’s not taking away from either skill, and I believe that one actually enhances the other.

    Trusting that all is well with you,
    Will

  10. March 28, 2008 at 12:03 am

    I’m a knitter, who can also crochet, but not well. My first reaction when I bought the book was, “what a sensational sweater!”. Then I looked and saw it was crocheted. My first reaction was “WOW! Finally I’ve found something I’d like to crochet for myself”. The craft involved in creating this sweater is irrelevant to me – it is a great design – the fabric, the texture, the drape – all fantastic – nothing more needs to be said. It doesn’t “look knitted” to me. It simply looks great! Thanks!

  11. March 31, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Thanks for your generous words, David. It have been most gratifying to me that so many have appreciated the hard work and love of the craft which went into producing this sweater. My only hope is that there are more creative juices remaining in me to match that effort.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,310 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


