06
Feb
08

The Cable Caper Concludes

My search for a cable in odd-numbered stitches is over. It’s funny. I posted on a couple of the Yahoo groups asking for help in finding a 5 or 7 stitch cable. The scarf pattern I am writing must have an odd number of stitches because the partiular fringe I want to use only works with odd numbers and the rest of the pattern is in multiples of 2. Mind you, I stated specifically that I needed a 5 or 7 stitch cable. (There is a commonly used 3 stitch cable, but that is too small. The swatch I sent to the publisher, and was approved for publication, had a 6 stitch cable…3 just wouldn’t substitute well.) 95% of the responses I received insisted that there was no such animal as an odd-numbered stitch cable and that I should redesign to use a cable of even-numbered stitches. I don’t know why I bother to ask for help, sometimes. I should just take the time to plow ahead to solve my own problems satisfactorily.

Since the 6 stitch cable I had been using skipped 2,crossed over 2, and finished with 2,why couldn’t I design a cable that skipped 3 ,crossed over 3 and finshed with 3 stitches. I don’t need my calculator to tell me that such a cable is comprised of 9 stitches, an ODD number. A bit bigger than I want, but I can compensate elsewhere.

Well, easier said than done. I first experimented with dtr, but that put the remaining stitch pattern out of whack. I use an x-stitch sequence on either side of the cable and the row was just too uneven. Long story, short: EXTENDED STITCHES to the rescue. Problem solved. Stay tuned for further adventures of the LONE HOOKER! (Now, I can never find Tonto when I need him).

1 Response to “The Cable Caper Concludes”


  1. February 11, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Like I always say, if you want something done right the first time, you’ve got to do it yourself!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,270 other followers

Getting Loopy Podcast – Flamie Awards


